Ivor O’Connor

February 4, 2014

T-Mobile Cheaper & Faster Than Verizon FiOS!

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 5:20 pm

I have the pre-paid unlimited 4G from T-Mobile for $70 a month and the Android Google Nexus 5. The Nexus 5 comes unlocked and you can tether your laptop via WiFi or the mini USB wire. It comes built in that way and no special software is needed. The unlimited 4G is not suppose to be ever throttled despite whether you use 5GBs or 5,000GBs per month. (I use about 20GBs per month.) I’ve been using the USB tether for months and have told people I do not notice any difference between T-Mobile and my FiOS which is 25 up and 25 down for $99 a month.

Normally I tell people my 4G speed is about 12Mb/s, about half my FiOS, but that websites are so slow you don’t notice the difference. Well today I tested my T-Mobile connection against my FiOS connection using speedtest.net. The FiOS speeds were 15ms ping, 25.46Mb/s down, and 24.01Mb/s up. T-Mobile was 37ms ping, 33.14mb/s down, and 18.98mp/s up.

So how do I take advantage of this? How do I set up my home network router to use my cell phone for the internet? I’m sure it is possible somehow.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.