Ivor O’Connor

February 23, 2014

Speeding Up Media

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 4:35 pm

Podcasts are much more enjoyable if they are sped up. Most of conversation is filled with pleasantry that does not add to the narrative. Then there are the common idioms that take so much time to express. When sped up your concentration is rewarded with the meat of the subject making things finally interesting. I normally speed up my medium somewhere between 1.6 to 3.0. It depends on the signal to noise ratio. If it is a subject I don’t know much about and I want to hear every detail then 1.6x is about right. If it is something that has little to offer 3.0 is about right. I get to hear the gist of most everything.

The application “Podcast Addict” is great for doing this on the phone. Youtube videos I don’t have a good solution for. Currently I’m downloading them via “minitube” and then speeding them up with “VLC”. Then deleting them manually. I’m sure there is a better solution but I have not found it yet.

I’ve been doing this for a while. Maybe my ear has changed. These days I find myself unable to listen or watch a video at normal speed…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

