Ivor O’Connor

November 5, 2013

Decentralized Search Engine?

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 3:40 am

I installed Yacy, http://yacy.de/en/Tutorials.html, tonight and set it as my primary search engine. It reminds me of how Google used to be. No clutter, very fast, and full of good results.

I thought it might be difficult to install Yacy from what I’ve heard about it. However it wasn’t at all. The instructions were clear and everything was working within three minutes.

Yacy keeps track of those URLs you actually like using a local database. It’s the latest in search engines. I don’t see how it can get any better…

THE NEXT DAY: Well I wrote too soon. After using it for many more searches the results were not coming out as expected. So I’d use Google to find what I needed and then put in keywords that defined the website explicitly. And still YaCy could not find stuff. When YaCy later quit working I decided to roll it back. I really like the ideas behind YaCy so I’ll probably come back to it sometime in the future.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

