Ivor O’Connor

August 24, 2013

Optimal Linux Reboot

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 11:43 pm

I’ve been having problems with Linux Mint 15. Today I figured out a way to stop the nonsense. Once and for all. Forevermore.

YUMI

I first downloaded every Linux ISO I thought I might want to try. Starting with Linux Mint 15 64 bit Mate, Cinnamon, KDE, and XFCE. I downloaded about 9 ISOs. Then I got out YUMI and made a USB thumb drive containing 10 different Linux flavors I could boot into. Then I tried the various distros to see which would give me trouble with my sound, graphics, wireless settings, etc.. Some distros worked better than others.

I was happiest with Linux Mint 15 but not all the versions worked right. So I then got the idea of installing all four desktops on one installation. That is XFCE, KDE, Mint, and Mate. So now when I boot up I can choose the desktop based on what I need or want to do.

I have been using XFCE almost exclusively for a long time. KDE though is so totally different it gives a new feeling to life on the computer. Like I am living 100 years in the future. It’s a dimension and time in space I can visit whenever I get bored. Currently though I’m using Mate to write this. I kind of like Mate and plan on using it for a while. Maybe I’ll switch from XFCE to Mate eventually. Too early to tell though.

YUMI to figure out the best Linux distros out there and then installing all the desktops on the distro is the optimal way to find the best Linux to boot into. I’ll use this technique to keep fresh.

1 Comment »

  1. How to tweak and optimize SSD for Ubuntu, Linux Mint
    http://namhuy.net/1563/how-to-tweak-and-optimize-ssd-for-ubuntu-linux-mint.html

    Edit fstab file
    # nano /etc/fstab

    Add discard to your ssd drives or partitions, after ext4
    UUID=bef10b86-494d-41c6-aa46-af72cfba90fd / ext4 discard,errors=remount-ro 0 1

    Edit fstab file
    # nano /etc/fstab

    Add noatime,nodiratime to your ssd drives or partitions, after ext4
    UUID=bef10b86-494d-41c6-aa46-af72cfba90fd / ext4 discard,noatime,nodiratime,errors=remount-ro 0 1

    Edit fstab file
    # nano /etc/fstab

    Add the line to the end of fstab file
    tmpfs /tmp tmpfs defaults,noatime,mode=1777 0 0

    If
    logs aren’t important for you (laptop or desktop), you can also mount
    /var/log to tmpfs. Add the line to the end of fstab file
    tmpfs /var/log tmpfs defaults,noatime,mode=0755 0 0

    Comment by Desiree Guzman — December 24, 2013 @ 2:24 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

