Ivor O’Connor

June 10, 2013

Upgrading Mint 14 To 15

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 5:37 pm

At http://orkultus.wordpress.com/2013/05/30/linux-mint-14-upgrade-to-linux-mint-15/ I came across the following instructions on upgrading. I was the middle of the night and I was sleepless so I went for it. It took forever but it worked. Sort of

1.) sudo sed -i 's/quantal/raring/' /etc/apt/sources.list
2.) sudo sed -i 's/nadia/olivia/' /etc/apt/sources.list
3.) sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
4.) sudo apt-get upgrade
5.) sudo shutdown -r now

There were many questions about whether I should keep the old configuration file or the new. I chose the new. It took a long time to finish the entire upgrade. On the positive my laptop here looks almost the same as it did before I started. All the tweaks I made to XFCE are still here. However I’m not automatically booting up into a ram disk any longer. I’ll have to go back and apply all my SSD and performance tweaks I so love to this machine. Still I like the idea of not installing everything over.

I think I’d be happier installing everything over to be honest. However I just wanted to see if it were possible to upgrade.

 

UPDATE 2013-06-13: The above didn’t work. Now my computer constantly reboots on its own. I’ll have to do a fresh install. I’m thinking though I’ll install windows 7 as the host OS and linux in a vmware player. Hardware vendors write their drivers for windows and so by installing linux this way I will have the best of both worlds.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

