Ivor O’Connor

June 8, 2013

Moving Off GMail, Finally.

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 12:07 am

I started up on GMail when they first started sending out invitations. I had gone through several paid services that all went out of business or got bought out. With GMail I was happy. I thought I’d never have to have another email address. Now however I believe GMail to be as evil as M$ or Apple and want to be done with them. Like Yesterday.

I’m not sure if I have a solution for this yet. Maybe a solution would be to use multiple email addresses and list them in my signature. This would allow for the future when one or more address becomes unavailable. Upon an error the sender could then resend the message to another of the listed addresses. I’d keep my email in a BitTorrent Sync folder. Moving the mail off the email providers servers almost immediately.

How to do this though? I’ll need to actually work on this a bit. Play with email clients to see which can support this easily. More posts to come on this subject. Hopefully soon.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

