Ivor O’Connor

January 19, 2013

Switching To T-Mobile/StraightTalk From AT&T/Net10

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 11:07 pm

Had to order the SIM card via Walmart’s website. The installation of the card was simple and took only a few minutes to get up and running.

My main problem with AT&T/Net10 was their lack of features. They could not change the number of rings before they would assume the call was not going to be answered. Worse yet it would immediately pick up the call if the phone was off. In addition there was no way to forward the call to another phone if the battery went dead.

T-Mobile/StraightTalk though might allow the call to never be picked up. I know T-Mobile does not allow this but Verizon/StraightTalk does. If however StraightTalk is limited by the carrier they are using then I will not be able to change the pickup time to more than about 25 seconds. However I will be able to forward the call to another number rather than the cell phone shorting out the connection immediately like AT&T/Net10 does.

Since I route the incoming phone calls to multiple lines it is crucial to have a rich set of features. Or at a very minimum act like an old fashioned phone that will ring and ring and ring until the caller hangs up.

So far the data connection has been spotty. The telephone line came up immediately. I’m assuming the data connectivity will take a few hours? UPDATE: The data connection part finally turned on. So far I’m getting green in the surrounding areas according to rootanalytics.com. It’s been so long since I’ve seen anything but the worst possible speeds I have forgotten what it is like to have G4 speeds. Good riddance AT&T! (Now I have to figure out how to cancel AT&T/Net10.)

UPDATE 2013-01-20:  I was looking at the T-Mobile plans and they offer a $70 unlimited data at 4G speeds. No throttling ever. Even if you are an American and watch three to seven hours of TV a day! (Really Americans do watch this much TV. I just looked it up. And I’m using their low stats. Figure in game playing and taped shows stats and they might as well be kept in a matrix pod.) So I ordered two SIM cards since T-Mobile is selling them with activation for $1 a piece. I’ll give their prepaid direct a try and if it works I may try their $70 unlimited with a two year shackle. They assure me there is no difference in features between the prepaid and the two year slave package except the unlimited 4G. Since I went through 1/2GB yesterday just testing the service via rootmetrics I figure it’s important to get unlimited quickly.

2 Comments »

  1. I leave a leave a response whenever I especially enjoy a post on a blog or I have
    something to add to the conversation. It’s triggered by the sincerness displayed in the article I browsed. And on this article Switching To T-Mobile/StraightTalk From AT&T/Net10 Ivor OConnor. I was excited enough to post a thought 😉 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Is it only me or do a few of the comments look like they are written by brain dead
    folks? 😛 And, if you are posting at other sites, I would like to follow
    you. Would you list every one of all your communal sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    Comment by Andre — January 26, 2013 @ 6:07 am

  2. I do not post routinely anywhere. Except here. You? (And I don’t do social media.)

    Comment by ioconnor — January 26, 2013 @ 7:23 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

