Ivor O’Connor

December 3, 2012

XFCE Mint 14 with 64 bits.

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 6:08 am

So this weekend I upgraded two more laptops to XFCE Mint 14 with 64 bits. These computers now are snappy. I couldn’t download XFCE but all it took was a “sudo apt-get install xfce14” and then logging out and logging in while specifying xfce.

Hulu works. Dropbox works. Chrome works. Everything seems to work wonderfully. (Haven’t tried VMWare yet.) But most importantly these laptops are very snappy now. By changing the backgrounds, putting the most common apps on the desktop, and putting a vanishing panel at the bottom these laptops look and behave just the way I want. This OS is the best I’ve ever experienced. I haven’t been this happy since NT came out.

2012-12-03 Update: Dual monitors apparently are not supported with the default installation.  Reading http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=6738 I found I have “Monitor 1 (LVDS1)” and “Monitor 2 (VGA1)”. I did “sudo apt-get install arandr” and then typed arandr and graphically configured my dual monitors. Then killed and restarted synergyc.  It was easy and I was lucky.

2012-12-03 Update: I’ve also included this beautiful background. People now think I’m running windows 8. I like the look and I like to brag that this is what windows 8 should have been. (From http://www.mbwallpapers.com/windows-8/windows-8-wallpaper-color-walls)

https://i0.wp.com/www.mbwallpapers.com/file/2944/600x338/16:9/windows-8-wallpaper-color-walls_1170629603.jpg

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

