Ivor O’Connor

July 3, 2012

GMail’s Web Interface is Difficult

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 7:14 pm

Google has been upgrading their web interface. It no longer shows 100 emails so I’m constantly reloading to get the right page. Gmail no longer shows how many emails I have, instead it says “1-50 of many”, so I can’t tell if I’m achieving my goal of clearing off ten a day out of thousands. Gmail no longer shows granular time stamps so I can’t retrieve something I know I got around 6pm on Monday or Tuesday of last week. And furthermore I can’t scroll to the next page by clicking on an arrow. Instead I have to click on a drop down button and then select “show more messages”!

Perhaps Google is telling me I’m a slob and I must change my working style. Thanks Google. I know I’m hopeless. In the meantime as I try to become a productive, responsible, functioning computer user. Neat and organized one too. I’ll use Thunderbird.

I haven’t used Thunderbird in years. It didn’t install on this debian laptop but it did install nicely on the windows 7 laptop. Since it’s only meant to be a short term fix until I get my email life in one piece I think I can live with just one copy of it.

Personally I’d like to go back to Pegasus email that I used in the mid 90s. It was by far the best email client I’ve ever used. Mostly because it allowed me almost complete freedom to do things the way I wanted. With regular flat files and complete control over almost every aspect of the email protocol which I haven’t seen even mentioned in other clients. I see http://www.pmail.com is still there. Maybe…

 

Update 2012-07-10: I wonder if I put pmail’s home directory in dropbox whether it would work on all the various computers. I’ll have to look at security…

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you for another wonderful article. Where else may
    anybody get that kind of information in such
    an ideal approach of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am at the search for such info.

    Comment by Ludie — September 19, 2012 @ 7:08 pm

    • Uh… Not sure what you see in the above article. I was ranting. Like I normally do.

      However I did end up installing and continue to use Thunderbird on a Linux Mint laptop. I like it there because I can check the email on all of my email addresses at the same time.

      I really want to install “mutt”. You can find it here http://www.mutt.org/. It seems to be the best and most complete email client that exists. Period. One email client to rule them all from any platform and not have to worry about obsolescence next year or in the next decade.

      Comment by ioconnor — September 19, 2012 @ 7:28 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

