Ivor O’Connor

December 26, 2011

HP Scanjet 8300 Review

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 7:21 pm

I needed a large flatbed scanner to replace the pathetic one that is on my HP Officejet Pro L77880 All-in-One. The problem with the L7780 is that it sometimes needs to recalibrate itself. This takes many minutes. Also if it thinks there is no ink or paper in it then it won’t work. So I went to CraigsList and looked for some nice cheap flat bed scanners that are still supported in Windows 7. I picked up the HP Scanjet 8300 for only $20 locally at a garage sale. Plugged it in and Windows 7 immediately recognized it and installed the correct driver for it. I then put a document in to be scanned but couldn’t figure out the right button to press. Then returned back to the M$ machine and clicked on printers and told it to scan that way. Presto. It’s an old fashioned slow scanner but it does the job. So now I have a real solution and with an HP. (Never thought I’d have any luck with another HP product.) Looking online I see I saved $479 dollars by buying it at a garage sale!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

