Ivor O’Connor

November 23, 2011

2012 Chrome Is The New Standard!

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 7:37 pm

I was thinking to myself Chrome and Opera are technically so far ahead of all the other browsers. Yet I know hardly anybody uses Opera because their ctl-k brings up an email app rather than search like all other browsers. But what about Chrome? Has it gotten to the point where others are using it? So I looked for stats and found http://www.w3schools.com/browsers/browsers_stats.asp which shows real user stats for the last 10 years nicely labeled the way I like to see information. Not data from Microsoft endorsed sites skewing in non obvious ways to convince people IE isn’t dead. So this data shows in 2009 Firefox overtook IE. Followed by Chrome passing IE in 2011, two years later. However Chrome and Firefox are now neck-and-neck. By extrapolating linearly Chrome is going to easily overtake Firefox in a few months sometime in early 2012. This is great news. Firefox lost it’s direction a few years back due to too many people at the steering wheel and no vision and they quit supporting obviously needed things like sqlite.

Google’s Chrome though has vision. And it along with Opera support this library html5sql making nice client side applications much easier. I think I’ll code only for Chrome and Opera in the future. Except for code that will send IE and Firefox users to my “challenged browser page” with links to where they can download real browsers. It’s nice to have stats backing my opinions.

2012.01.06 UPDATE: Another good reason for using Chrome is that it appears to be the only browser that supports the latest file system APIs. These standards have been around in HTML5 for quite a while now but nobody else seems to have implemented them. See http://www.html5rocks.com/en/tutorials/file/filesystem/#toc-support. You can see if your browser is supported simply by visiting this page. They have coded a snippet that automatically detects and displays the results of your browser’s support.

 

2013.05.31 UPDATE:  I have removed Chrome and Chromium from all my computers. As you do this they ask a bunch of questions about why you would want to do something so horrible. I replied “Firefox doesn’t die Jim”. I got so tired of seeing chrome and chromium hang and then eventually say “It’s dead Jim”. Google is at the very bottom of my list of supported companies. No. That’s not positive. Instead let me rephrase it. It’s at the very top of my list of hated companies. Everything they do now days seems to reek of evil. As soon as it is convenient I will be off all their products and never ever return. Kind of like what I did with Apple.

1 Comment »

  1. Je suis tout-à-fait d’accord avec cette réponse.

    Comment by Eva — May 31, 2013 @ 1:54 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

