Ivor O’Connor

June 16, 2009

Dell Laptops!

Filed under: dell, laptop — ioconnor @ 4:33 pm

So the laptop to take over the year old main laptop which had failed has now failed. So the first work laptop lasted one year. The second work laptop lasted one month. The quality of these laptops is starting to look very questionable. So today I installed Ubuntu on what will be my third work laptop while the first two get sent back to Dell. Hence the previous article about hanging. The emphasis on this article is about warranties though.

I called Dell last week to extend my warranty. I was worried that since I had it for 13 months they would not extend it. However they did. (I’ve known for 2 months now I needed to return it but I’ve been slow.) The interesting part about their warranties are the prices. It costs $130 or so for a one year extension and only slightly more for two years. It goes up to a whopping $210 for a four year extension. Not exactly linear. In fact the graph looks just the opposite of what I’d expect. Instead of exponential as it gets older it seems to be logrithmic. Go figure.

That’s not the most odd part about it though. If you go for the four year extension you get a $75 coupon that can be used for future purchases. Including the extensions of other warranties. So for the price of a year extension you get an extension for four years. Wow!

Do they figure most owners will have moved on to other laptops and not care? Or will Dell be going out of business soon? I have no idea!

2 Comments »

  1. Acer Aspire One AOD150-1165
    Consumer Reports gave the Acer Aspire One high marks and that was enough for me. I an completely pleased with my selection of of this netbook. Since the keyboard is obviously not full-sized, I’m making occasional typos but I’m sure my skill level will increase over time. That’s my issue not an issue with the Acer Aspire One. I purchased a Logitech wireless mouse and a Netgear wireless router. My netbook was immediately responsive to both. I also purchased a two-year extended warranty that covers accidents. I’m three-weeks into using my new toy and I have no complaints at all.

    Comment by Martin — June 18, 2009 @ 4:05 pm

    • Consumer Reports? Uh huh.

      Putting that aside how much memory did you get? (I require 4GBs but I could settle for 3GBs.)

      A large hard disk is also essential. I would not want less than 200GBs.

      Then it must support a 1900×1200 display. If that can’t be used then I would never buy it.

      It must also run Ubuntu.

      How about the fan? Does it ever go on?

      On the positive side is the battery life.

      I’ll look into it when I go to buy my next laptop.

      Comment by ioconnor — June 19, 2009 @ 2:29 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

