Ivor O’Connor

May 10, 2009

Interesting Site: www.physorg.com

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 9:34 pm

I came across an article about prime numbers that I could actually almost understand at physorg.com. Usually talk on prime numbers confuse me and and when I made it to the end of the article feeling like I actually added something to my knowledge base I noticed the author was actually interviewed by the site. So I looked at the site and discovered not only is it free but it has lots of good relevant articles. And you can also become a facebook fan of it. I’m not sure exactly how that works but I subscribed for it so I could get some experience.

As far as the article goes it makes me realize there are probably quite a few patterns that are not being looked for with any regular basis. I wonder why statistical programs such as R do not spot these patterns.

I’ve been working my way through a statistical book for a few months but I’ve been getting bogged down because I am not using any good stat package to work the examples with. So now I have downloaded R and will attempt to use it. Maybe then I’ll understand why it is not used more routinely to spot patterns such as seen with Benford’s law.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

