Ivor O’Connor

April 10, 2009

Benefits of JQuery?

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 9:14 pm

I’m thinking of writing my own select library and thought it might be a good thing not to reinvent the wheel and start with JQuery. So I went looking for JQuery examples and found this one:

http://www.danvega.org/blog/index.cfm/2008/7/1/jQuery-Select-Example

And I did not get it. After looking at it for awhile I got the idea if I read the comments at the bottom maybe then I’d get why their solution was better than the original code. Nope. The “ugly” old style without JQuery to me was the “beautiful” style to me. It looks like, for select statements, JQuery just substitutes about the same amount of code as the old style had while providing no benefit. Unless obfuscating code is their objective? In the web world I’m inclined to believe it’s the latter. However you can follow the above link and decide which is best…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

