Ivor O’Connor

October 31, 2008

Final steps in dumping M$…

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 11:18 am

I am currently using two applications that require Microsoft.

The first application is quickbooks professional. I’ve tried alternatives like sqledger and such that run on Linux but I have too many troubles with them. I’m thinking I should try the online version of quickbooks. Maybe that will work for me?

The second application is really a driver. I have a multifunction printer hooked to the network that receives faxes and does my double sided printing, and most importantly allows me to scan documents. The scan feature I use extensively. It’s great to be able to scan multipage, sometimes double sided, documents at resolutions of 300 or 1200 dpi. But the scanning does not seem to be supported under Linux. (I hae a brother MFC-8660dn if anybody out there is an expert on this stuff.)

At this point I’m thinking of buying something new. Unfortunately the lists of supported hardware are at best starting points. Usually they are not really supported. And finding support at the vendors site is less than perfect. I guess I’ll start keeping my eyes open for possibilities. If anybody has first hand knowledge of a good inexpensive scanner please reply here. (Or a good multi-function printer with network scanning and such that would do too.)

I certainly do want to be rid of Microsoft. And there must be others who are using Ubuntu and have had the same issues I’m having.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

