Ivor O’Connor

January 3, 2012

Debian is good enough!

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 12:53 pm

After playing with xubuntu on VMware I decided it was better for me than mint. So I installed it on one of my linux comps. It seemed to work fine from the DVD so I installed it. Once installed though XUbuntu did not know what to do with the second monitor. The second monitor just mirrored the first. There were no options to fix this. I searched for solutions and the only one that looked like it would work took significant amounts of time. More time than just downloading and installing a vanilla Debian. So I installed Debian.

Debian did handle the second monitor just fine. Debian understands multimedia too! So I can see YouTube, Hulu, Pandora, RealAudio, what not. FireFox was not installed by default. No big deal since I’m a Google Chrome fan. So I installed Chrome and it works just fine. A vanilla install of Debian seems to have everything one could want so I’m wondering why the need for Ubuntu or Mint? Debian even uses Gnome2 so one doesn’t have to fight silly interfaces. There has not been a single strange thing so far with Debian. No error messages. No warning messages. Everything installed perfectly and has worked perfectly. It’s really strange since Ubuntu and Mint area always having little minor problems here and there. Maybe Debian is the way of the future? It certainly seems the Germans think so. The entire city of Munich has switched to Debian. Guess I’m kind of behind the rest of the World. Debian has already become my OS of choice in just a few days replacing Mint and Ubuntu. If it continues to be so nice when the comps that run Mint and Ubuntu need updating I’ll switch them to Debian.

Some things are useful if done right off after the install:

  1. apt get-install synergyc
  2. apt-get install make
  3. apt-get install inetutils-tools
  4. alias ls=”ls -lart  | tail”

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.