Ivor O’Connor

December 14, 2011

Horrible Performance of HP Pavilion g7-1219wm Notebook PC

Filed under: Uncategorized — ioconnor @ 7:23 pm

This computer is getting horrible performance. Nothing is running on it and 60% of both CPUs are in use. There are a few more processes on the list that I deleted before writing them down below. I’ll add them if I continue to have problems. I may just go back if I ever have the time and delete everything imaginable because I don’t like seeing the computer busy at 15 to 20% when nothing is going on.

atieclxx.exe The atieclxx.exe is a program of ATi Graphic card drivers. The function of atieclxx.exe is to give ATi Graphic card better performance so it just plays a subsidiary role. The MD5 of atieclxx.exe is 46b175d56d7235d700394ed99050617f and please be alert if its MD5 has been changed (viruses/spywares may also confuse you by using the name atieclxx.exe). Tried to delete it but access is denied.

ccc.exe CCC stands for Catalyst Control Center, and it’s part of your ATI video card driver package—or to be more specific, it’s part of the utilities bundled along with the drivers, and adds features like customizing your display, or setting hotkeys for different display profiles. As long as the ccc.exe utility is installed into your Program Files\ATI Technology directory, it’s a legit process that can be left alone. Deleted it with no problems, everything still works, cpus still at 60%.

ccsvchst.exe*32 The ccsvchst.exe file is automatically added to your computer upon installing the Norton software, and it is referred to as the Symantec Service Framework. The ccsvchst.exe file works to display the GUI (Graphical User Interface) of Norton products, which usually include the Norton Security Suites. If the ccsvchst.exe file encounters a problem, the Norton’s graphical interface will only be displayed after the computer has been rebooted. Tried to delet it but access is denied.

csrss.exe This is the user-mode portion of the Win32 subsystem; Win32.sys is the kernel-mode portion. Csrss stands for Client/Server Run-Time Subsystem, and is an essential subsystem that must be running at all times. Csrss is responsible for console windows, creating and/or deleting threads, and implementing some portions of the 16-bit virtual MS-DOS environment.

dwm.exe One of the new features in Windows Vista/7 is the Desktop Window Manager (DWM). It responsible for the graphical effects such as live window previews and a glass-like frame around windows (Aero Glass), without draining your CPU. A DWM-capable graphics card is required to enable the 3D effects, as well as Aero Glass. (In older Windows Vista Beta versions, the DWM effects are controlled by the User Experience Session Management Service, via “uxss.exe”.) You can increase your computer’s performance if you switch to Classic Mode (turn off Aero Glass and Animations), or reduce your screen resolution. http://www.neuber.com/taskmanager/process/dwm.exe.html

explorer.exe This is the user shell, which we see as the familiar taskbar, desktop, and other user interface features. This process isn’t as vital to the running of Windows as you might expect, and can be stopped (and restarted) from Task Manager, usually with no negative side effects on other applications. http://www.neuber.com/taskmanager/process/explorer.exe.html

HPMSGSVC.exe*32 Remove HP Quicklaunch from the Applications menu. I just had to do it myself and stumbled on this site. If you want to remove Norton from your system or McAfee you need to use the tools provided by their makers and not the built in Add/Remove Applications. For Norton: Google Norton_Removal_Tool.exe and for McAfee it is MCPR.EXE Deleted it with no problems, everything still works, CPUs still at 60%

HPOSD.exe*32 Our database contains 6 different files for filename hposd.exe . This files belongs to product HP On Screen Display and were developed by company Hewlett-Packard Development Company, L.P.. This files have description HP On Screen Display. This is executable file. You can find it running in Task Manager as the process hposd.exe. Deleted it with no problems, everything still works, CPUs still at 60%

hpqwutils.exe*32 Latest new variant of the file with name “hpqwutils.exe” was discovered today. Our database contains 7 variants of the file “hpqwutils.exe” with final rating Safe and zero variants with final rating Threat. Final ratings are based on file reviews, discovered date, users occurence and antivirus scan results. Deleted it with no problems, everything still works, CPUs still at 60%

MOM.exe mom.exe is a Catalyst Control Center or a Monitoring program from ATI Technologies Inc. belonging to Catalyst Control Centre. Although this is an ATI Technologies Inc. application there is a possibility that this could be a type of spyware if found in the following folder: \program files\mom\mom.exe. Thus it is recommended for removal if possible. Deleted it with no problems, everything still works, CPUs still at 60%

perfmon.exe

sttray64.exe sttray64.exe is a stsystray.exe belonging to IDT Audio from IDT, Inc. Non-system processes like sttray64.exe originate from software you installed on your system. As most applications store data in your system’s registry, it is likely that your registry has suffered fragmentation and accumulated harmful errors. It is recommended that you check your registry to identify hidden errors now. Deleted it with no problems, everything still works, CPUs still at 60%

SynTPEnh.exe  http://www.processlibrary.com/directory/files/syntpenh/24922/ syntpenh.exe is a process installed alongside the Synaptics touchpad for laptop computer touchpads. Provides additional configurations and support, and is essential on some machines for the functioning of this input device. Deleted it with no problems, everything still works, CPUs still at 60%

SynTPHelper.exe http://www.processlibrary.com/directory/files/syntphelper/442937/ syntphelper.exe is a SynTPHelper Application belonging to Synaptics Pointing Device Driver from Synaptics, Inc. Non-system processes like syntphelper.exe originate from software you installed on your system. As most applications store data in your system’s registry, it is likely that your registry has suffered fragmentation and accumulated harmful errors. It is recommended that you check your registry to identify hidden errors now. Deleted it with no problems, everything still works, CPUs still at 60%

taskhost.exe And I think I have it narrowed down to the Windows RAC task…  This after installing (and buying a few) multiple spyware and antivirus tools…  I wonder if I should ask for reimbursement?? Anyway – my cpu was being consumed by the Windows Reliability Analysis Task – the way that I narrowed it down to this was by installing process explorer and letting it show me what was actually running under taskhost.exeI then went into scheduled tasks and stopped the reliability analysis scheduled activity  –  and presto the taskhost.exe went away and processor utilization shot down to essentially nothing Anyway – that seemed to help me… maybe it will help you Not sure why it is trying to burn up so much cpu… Based on the above comments I went to the control panel, selected system, then scheduled tasks, then disabled everything that didn’t seem necessary before rebooting. Now the system is at 15%.

taskmgr.exe

winlogon.exe

 

2013-01-20 UPDATE:   After having spent hours and hours over the course of weeks I was able to eventually get all the “crapware” that came pre-installed off. Once the crapware was off, and it literally took about a month to get the many many pieces off, the computer no longer burned at close to 99% of it’s CPU while idle running no applications. I have left this HP laptop on for over a year, except for the automatic software update-reboots, and have had no more problems. I suspect this HP laptop is good, unlike their printer products, and that it was totally the fault of the HP pre-installed crapware. I probably could have made my life much easier by buying and installing windows 7 myself on this machine. I felt it was HPs responsibility to deliver a working solution out of the box. However the next time I buy a windows laptop I will install a separate copy of windows 7 and save myself potential grief. Based on how popular this post still is, a year later, I would recommend people buy a $200 copy of windows 7 and wipe the disk and install  windows from scratch.

 

10 Comments »

  1. And here is a comment from somebody I’d rather not allow to post on my blog. It’s more a reminder to me of the mental capability found in the general public. For some reason he thinks his information is new and useful:

    Friz commented on Horrible Performance of HP Pavilion g7-1219wm Notebook PC

    You are a stupid dumbass who doesnt know how to use a computer correctly… try right clicking than clicking the AMD controls than scroll down to clock speed/performance and set the cpu up to full 1.65 GHz than it will run extremely smooth and solve all your problems this is the way the computer is supposed to function and doesnt use up a ton of battery either.. try to find solutions before you post shit like this that gives it a bad rep when your the dumbass who doesnt know how to use a computer correctly. Also you must have a defect in your computer, try getting it replaced with a new one. this is one of the best hp pavilions you can buy out there right now–redhawk211@gmail.com

    So your calling the general public stupid..? Now that’s a way to get ppl on your stupid page?? U do realize the general public is the one viewing this so.. That just shows your mental capacity, smart thinkin ;-)

    2011.12.26 UPDATE: I’ve marked that poster as spam so he can’t post here but it looks like he has now got another email and is sending me more childish remarks. Reminds me of those flamers you find in games. If only it were possible and easy to rid yourself of people like him in real life!

    Comment by ioconnor — December 15, 2011 @ 12:02 am

  2. Hi Ivor,

    I stumbled across this post because I am having the same problems with the exact same HP laptop. I noticed you apparently shut all those things off and nothing helped the performance. Did what the rude Fritz guy said work, and can you describe how I go about doing that? I don’t see an AMD thing I can right click on to do what he said.

    Thanks and looking forward to your reply.

    Blair

    Comment by Blair Corbett — December 29, 2011 @ 4:25 am

    • Hi Blair,

      I am no expert when it comes to windows settings. I did notice early on about the CPU speeds and adjusted them to maximum even when idle when I was first having troubles getting Ubuntu 11.10 running under VmWare. That didn’t help much. I also set all the standard optimizations suggested in the help files. A good place to start would be to simply click on “start” and then search for “AMD”. It will get you started but won’t fix the pc to the point VmWare is useable.

      Just making the PC itself usable was enough of a challenge. For me this didn’t have anything to do with settings in the general sense. I googled and googled until I found other people with similar problems. Turns out all the preinstalled apps that come by default with the laptop sometimes get in each others way. So no matter how fast the CPU is running or how you have the performance settings set the laptop will be unresponsive. You’ll notice the overall combined CPU utilization will be over 50%. Typically between 60 and 90% with no applications running. The secret was in the last paragraph of my original post. I had to disable those services so they would no longer start and then reboot the laptop. Once I did that the CPU has been typically under 20% utilization. Typically around 5%. Still not good enough to run VmWare though. (I went back and tried again.)

      It was after doing all of the above work and posting my results that Fritz blasted me with the idea of reading before posting and checking the CPU speeds. Kind of ironic he didn’t bother to read my post so he wouldn’t have said what he had said.

      This laptop runs the scanners, printers, synergy, and other things that can only be run with Windows due to good drivers not being available for Linux. I am careful not to use it for anything more and rely on linux for the heavy lifting. Since it didn’t come with install disks I view it as more of an appliance.

      Right click on start then “Open Windows Explorer” right click on the main folder window and the very first item will be “AMD VISION Engine Control Center”. You should be able to verify that your settings set in the normal way are working.

      Comment by ioconnor — December 29, 2011 @ 5:45 pm

      • I just purchased the product, and I’ve been pretty happy so far. I’m not exactly a novice computer user, but can’t say I’m categorized as a power user or gamer. My expectation level was above XP desktop level which I had pretty tweaked out (9 yr old Gateway), and to be honest my old XP was faster than this laptop in many way. Especially basic function and menu exchange. This unit has to actually spin to get menus to change. Everything else is slightly more polished looking and nicer quality especially considering the price. I really would have liked to spend more and get more performance.

        I’m not experiencing the type of failure you’re getting out of the box however. I just left Norton off, and didn’t start any HP maintenance help. I turned on Window updates just to get the barrage of stuff that hadn’t been done while this product sat on the shelf, then turned it off. I didn’t change any performance parameters from stock, which appear to be maxed out anyway. I did however partition the drive slightly to push my bigger video files out of the way. I also inserted a stick for readyboost to get a slight bump in performance when something demanding comes up. I may upgrade the ram at some point if I decide to keep this device (2 week return policy).

        I am a little concerned with some mild flashing on my video player overscripts when I change a setting, and that spin circle (hour glass of old) from just loading more difficult menus with more content. I can’t understand the VM issue you’re getting, and for now I have no reason to load Ubuntu. It’s only a 5400 rpm drive and less than 2Ghz processor, so I don’t expect miracles. I thought the dual core would help, and I guess it does, but of course Windows runs so much more stuff these days-compared to my old XP. I bought this computer in a jam cause my XP broke down-my fault. Long story.

        I’m not getting abnormal CPU usage or anything like that. I did get one weird thing after loading up the Office starter program. Now I have this Drive Q to contend with that doesn’t really exist but is in my menu as a virtual component-denied access with nothing in it. I found it’s not easy to get rid of it without possibly causing problems short of getting rid of Office altogether. I’ll save that for another day. Otherwise the unit is pretty nice, has a polished look, and most of the hookups you would need. The screen is a great size for viewing video (although off center it looks bad quick), but generally I’m satisfied for the money I spent.

        Comment by Rob — January 1, 2012 @ 5:18 am

        • I’m generally happy with the HP too. It has a much larger screen and screen resolution than the others at around the same price and for that alone was worth the price. After fixing the problem with the services the CPU hasn’t gone haywire on me. The fact it can’t run VMware or VirtualBox very well just means it’s going to have to be used as it was intended to be used. Which it does. I was shocked it couldn’t run VMware, I was under the impression anything sold in the last few years could, but no big deal. I’d buy the HP laptop again even with what I know about it because it gets the job I need done.

          Comment by ioconnor — January 1, 2012 @ 4:00 pm

  3. I have one question though after having the product for a month. It concerns Quickweb. Supposedly, you can push the F5 key when the computer is off and have it boot to a host a utilities like a mini operating system-like email, browser etc. It’s active in task manager and has over 3 GB’s devoted to in HP tools partition. Yet, it doesn’t work on my system. I do get a flash screen and boot to QuickWeb logo, but nothing else when I push it from being off. I can’t imagine that it isn’t installed since I have so many files devoted to it, and it runs in windows. There is nothing in the start menu or bios to adjust. It does open my browser when windows comes on if I push F5, but that’s it. Something I did, or something not installed from the factory was a miss. Maybe it’s not supposed to work on this unit without installing or doing something. I’m at a loss. Any ideas?

    Comment by Rob — January 30, 2012 @ 12:58 am

  4. +1 For cUMPuTur knowledge FAIL.

    Wow, I just stumbled upon this trying to find out why ATIECLXX.exe is using so much CPU time on an HP for my Dad, and wow man, that dude is just making stuff up.Lulz dude busting up his system processes trying to fight the HP Bloat-Ware. HP Bloatware is no joke man, like kryptonite, and it looks like you put a lot of google time in, so much you scrambled your brain. Just end-process and delete it, I like your style man. It’s a good thing Microsoft engineers Denied you Access, cause you delete like a blindfolded Samurai hacker. Try Resource Monitor if you want to know what’s using what, but task manager will show you Thread count and processor time of each exe. Resource monitor will show you services and the associated modules and handles that go with it.. If ATIECLXX or its sibling, are using more that 25 percent of cpu, you might have something physically wrong with your GPU, like a bad fan or heatsink.

    But it’s HP pre-installed software that’s was killing you,

    Comment by SplAdam — June 2, 2012 @ 11:51 pm

    • Forgot to mention, HP does not automatically give you the latest AMD drivers, and some old drivers make ATIECLXX.EXE run like a monster on off the shelf HP’s. Go to http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx
      pick your GPU and get the whole package, install it yourself. After I put the latest driver on my dad’s machine, it went form idling at 20 percent cpu to 1 percent.

      Comment by SplAdam — June 3, 2012 @ 12:25 am

  5. Good afternoon, many thanks for a extremely enjoyable piece, I would not typically add posts but valued your weblog hence felt I
    would say thanks >Lilly

    Comment by Teddy — August 23, 2012 @ 6:54 am

  6. good info, it offers insight how to tidy up things in using this laptop. thanks bro!

    Comment by resti — November 12, 2012 @ 1:04 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

